# NESSA QUALIFYING REGATTAS For the GEORGE O'DAY TROPHY SATURDAY APRIL 22, 2017

## **NOTICE OF RACE**

# 1. RULES:

- 1.1. The regatta will be governed by the current Racing Rules of Sailing, the prescriptions of US SAILING, the ISSA Procedural Rules, the NESSA Procedural Rules, this Notice of Race, and the Sailing Instructions. (available at Registration)
- 1.2. In accordance with RRS rule 70.5(a), decisions of the protest committee are final. US SAILING's permission has been granted.
- 1.3. ISSA PR 5.1 (Conduct) shall be in effect for the entire regatta.
- 1.4. The Organizing Authority (OA) is the NESSA in conjunction with the host school listed below.
- 1.5. ISSA PR 2.5 (Team Uniforms/Pinnies) shall be in effect for the entire regatta.

## 2. ELIGIBILITY:

- 2.1. Competing schools must be members of ISSA & NESSA and meet ISSA eligibility rules as prescribed in the Procedural Rules, Part III 1, and 5.2.
- 2.2. Active ISSA/NESSA membership is required before completing the registration process.
- 2.3. See NESSA PR Article K, section 2(c) for more eligibility requirements

## 3. ENTRY PROCEDURES.

- 3.1. Schools wishing to compete must complete the on-line registration form in the registration window.
- 3.2. Registration window opens at 0900 on March 1<sup>st</sup>.
- 3.3. Registration window closes at 2359 on April 1<sup>st</sup>.
- 3.4. Schools select their first, second, and third choices for qualifying venues. Qualifying venues will be:
  - The Hotchkiss School (Lakeville, CT) in C420
  - Tabor Academy (Marion, MA) in Z420
  - St George's School/Ida Lewis YC (Newport, RI) in Z420
  - Marblehead HS HS/Pleon YC (Marblehead, MA) in C420
- 3.5. The NESSA O'Day Event Chair and NESSA VP will make the final venue allocations assignments by April 8<sup>th</sup>.
- 3.6. NESSA PR Article L (failure to Compete) is in effect
- **4. ENTRY FEE:** The entry fee is \$25 per school, payable at registration. The fee is non-refundable
- **5. BOATS:** Boats provided by the host schools (see above). Boats will be sailed as provided.

# 6. SCHEDULE: Saturday April 22, 2017

- 6.1. 0830 -Check in/registration/rigging of boats
  - 0915- Sailor's meeting (First warning announced at Sailor's Meeting)
  - 1600 -No first warning for any A Division race may start after this time, except if the regatta is not "official" yet, in accordance with the ISSA PR in which case, racing can continue until the regatta is official.
- 6.2. Changes to the schedule will be posted on the official notice board location to be announced at registration.
- **7. RACING AREA:** The Race area will be defined at registration.

- **8. COURSES:** Based on conditions, the RC will determine the courses as prescribed in ISSA PR 7.7.
- **9. SCORING:** The regatta will be scored in accordance with ISSA Procedural Rules.

#### 10. COACHING:

- 10.1. Team leaders, chaperones, coaches, parents, advisors and other support personnel shall not go afloat in the sailing area from the time they arrive at the regatta site until the regatta is done unless explicitly permitted by the regatta chair. The penalty for failing to comply with this requirement may be the disqualification of all boats, competitors and teams associated with the infringing support personnel.
- 10.2. A coach who is also acting as a Race Committee is exempt from 10.1 between sets of races.
- 10.3. ISSA PR 8 defines other coaching limitations and obligations.
- **11. PRIZES:** The top four finishers (schools) at each site will qualify for the NESSA Fleet Racing Championship for the George O'Day trophy to be sailed on Sunday April 23, 2017.

## 12. FAILURE TO COMPLETE ALL QUALIFYING REGATTAS.

- 12.1 In the event that all of the qualifying regattas are not "official" by the end of the day, the regattas that are not official shall be suspended and the schools shall return to the venue the next day (Sunday April 23<sup>rd</sup>) to complete the regatta. The O'Day finals will be moved; information on report time, location, and boats shall be publicized through the NESSA e-mail list and the NESSA website.
- 12.2 In the event that the O'Day finals cannot be completed prior to Monday May 8<sup>th</sup>, the four winners of the four qualifying regattas shall be declared NESSA's representatives to the ISSA Fleet Racing National Championship for the Clifford Mallory Trophy to be sailed at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) May 12-14, 2017. In this case, the O'Day trophy will not be awarded.

#### 13. RIGHTS TO USE NAME AND LIKENESS:

By participating in this event, competitors automatically grant to the Organizing Authority and the event sponsors the right, in perpetuity, to make, use and show, at their discretion, any photography, audio and video recordings, and other reproductions of them made at the venue or on the water from the time of their arrival at the venue, until their final departure, without compensation.

## 14. WAIVER OF LIABILITY:

- 14.1 Sailing is an activity that has an inherent risk of damage and injury. Competitors in this event are participating entirely at their own risk. See RRS 4, Decision to Race.
- 14.2 The race organizers (organizing authority, race committee, protest committee, host club, sponsors, or any other organization or official) will not be responsible for damage to any boat or other property or the injury to any competitor, including death, sustained as a result of participation in this event. By participating in this event, each competitor agrees to release the race organizers from any and all liability associated with such competitor's participation in this event to the fullest extent permitted by law.

## 15. REGATTA CONTACTS/REGATTA CHAIRS:

Jonathan Harley –NESSA VP

Joe Cooper – O'Day Event Chair

Rob Hurd – Tabor Academy

I jonathanharley@cox.net cooper-ndn@cox.net RSHurd@Hotmail.com

Noah Passackow – Marblehead HS <u>pasackow.noah@marbleheadschools.org</u>

Roger Rawlings – Hotchkiss School rrawling@hotchkiss.org
Roy Williams – St George's School roy williams@stgeorges.edu

Edited: 1/9/17 at 1:31 PM