MASSA 2017 Fall Team Race Championship


Saturday, November 4:

The St. Mary's College of Maryland Seahawks were proud to host the top 14 high schools in the MASSA Conference in their fleet of 18 Z420's and 18 FJ's. Northerly breezes and seasonable temperatures made for wonderful team race conditions allowing 66 of the 67 races to be completed before the drizzle set in. The 14 teams were able too complete the two seven team seeded rounds and then divide up into an 8 team Gold division and a 6 team Silver division. The Gold races were sailed in Z420's while the Silver teams were assigned colors in FJ's. The 15 umpires made up of mostly of current and former college sailors and led by Carol Robinson did an excellent job keeping the playing field level.

Sunday, November 5:

Sunday's conditions were not as favorable. Light breezes came mostly from the East, but were not consistent or strong enough to allow for completion of the Gold and Silver rounds. Silver racing was abandoned mid-morning, while Gold had to be abandoned mid-rotation at 12:30 in order to allow for an attempt at a Championship Final 4. Unfortunately, the breeze glassed off and no more racing could be conducted.

Huge thanks to all the volunteers from the umpires and to AYC for bringing two umpire boats. The competitors and coaches appreciated the Seahawk Sailors giving up their free weekend to run a quality event for HS Sailing.

Carol Robinson, Chief Umpire Bradley Adam (SMC Undergrad) Mallory Beuchler (AYC) Dane Byerly (SMC Undergrad) - Sat Chase Cooper (SMC Undergrad) Mackenzie Cooper (SMC Undergrad) Nick Gartner (Navy Undergrad) Bobby Lippincott (AYC)

Final Results

*1SevernSevern SchoolAdmirals9/1Jordan Bruce '20Andrea Riefkohl '20
Madeline Hawkins '20Blair Reilly '18
Mariner Fagan '20Camille White '18
Caroline Bayless '19Abby Tindall '19
Owen Hennessey '21Ryan Wahba '20
Sam Bruce '20Caroline McNeil '18
**2ChristchurchChristchurch SchoolSeahorses9/1Benton Amthor '19Galt Oliver '18
John Vail '20Boyd Bragg '19
Boyd Bragg '19Sally Johnson '18
Nathan Smith '20Eric DeMaro '18
3AnnapolisAnnapolis High SchoolPanthers8/2Porter Kavle '18Ava Walker '19
George Kaye '18Jamey Macris '18
Nicholas Salvesen '18Shalom Fadullon '18
Kimberly Leonard '18
b4RanneyRanney SchoolPanthers6/4Luke Arnone '19Matthew Hamelsky '19
Cameron Giblin '19William Beyer '20
Brooke Schmelz '21Catherine Vucetic '19
b4Norfolk CollegiateNorfolk Collegiate SchoolOaks6/4Ellie Maus '18Matt Wright '19
Parker Purrington '19Sam Beck '21
Sarah Smith '18Ray Domena '19
Chris Robertson '19
Jenks Britt '20
c6Rumson-Fair HavenRumson-Fair HavenBulldogs6/4Colleen O'Brien '20Danny Raphael '19
Shaanti Choi-Bose '19Oliva Pasquale '19
Michaela O'Brien '20Amelia Buch '20
7Southern RegionalSouthern Regional High SchoolRams5/5Tom Green '19Joe Mrazek '20
Dana Haig '18Nate Ertle '20
Brielle Willoughby '20Bridget Green '21
Bridget Green '21Brielle Willoughby '20
8St. Marys  (MD)St. Mary's High School (MD)Saints3/7Michael Bisson '18Henry Andress '18
Trevor Davis '20Delaney Webb '18
James Golden '20Allison Forsyth '18
Amelia Johnson '21
*9BroadneckBroadneck High SchoolBruins4/5Katherine Bennett '18Maggie McKay '18
Emma Snead '19Nicole Ryan '18
Alex Heim '20Lucien Parker '20
Sander Miller '18
**10KeyKey SchoolZags4/5Nicholas Papadopoulos '18Alexander Abbott '18
Will Cornell '21Max Shapiro '20
Charles Anderson '21Luke Koerschner '19
Harrison Reisinger '18
11KecoughtanKecoughtan High SchoolWarriors3/6Sam Brady '19Laura Rhodes '20
Cole Handly '19Ryan Nguyen '20
Morgan Handly '21Grace Joyner '19
Parker Bunting '18Megan Geith '20
Tyson Denton '21
12Norfolk AcademyNorfolk AcademyBulldogs2/7Lawson Montgomery '18Mihir Damle '19
Charlie Britt '21Henry Campbell '21
Michael Hostutler '20Alek Sas '18
Jennifer Permenter '21Cameron LLoyd '19
13The Stony BrookThe Stony Brook SchoolBears1/8Thomas DeRose '19Ella Simmons '19
Matthew Sparacio '18Alyssa Jette '19
Jack Adams '18Nicholas Buscemi '18
Hannah DiLavore '20
Josie Levy '18
Margaret Hunt '19
d14RyeRye High SchoolGarnets-1/10Van der Voort Constantyn '19CC Millard '19
Lise Powers '20Gruber Jack '21
Matthew Wallace '21Madeline Saffer '20
*Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (0)
bTie stands
cTotal points scored when tied teams met (23)
d-1/10 record from team penalty for missing RP