PCISA Team Race Championship


Saturday, April 19:

Racing off of Lido Island Yacht Club on an incredible sunny day with temperatures in the mid 70’s where the wind was up from the West by 10am made for great racing and spectating. Racing began at 10:15am in about 5-7 kts. and the breeze built through most of the day with a high of about 12 kts. until backing off a bit in the late afternoon to 8-10 kts. A triple round robin (63 races) was sailed for the 7 teams entered. PRO Jen Lancaster with help from mark setter Charlie Underwood kept the Digital N Course square and the races moving forward smoothly. Lots of bay traffic (paddle boards, large power cruisers, electric boats, kayaks, etc.) kept everyone on their toes. Many of the races were extremely close with the top 4 teams virtually tied going into the final round. An outstanding umpire team lead by Chief Umpire Don Becker and including, Kim Kymlicka. Justin Law, Jeff Keenan, Mark Townsend, Vicki Sodaro, Steve Schupak, Charlie Legeman and Christine Robertson, was organized by David Blackman. 18 CFJ’s were equalized and kept on the course by Bosun Nick Madigan with help from David Dahl and Bill Mais. Over 378 finishes were aptly recorded and transmitted by team Drayton/Welsh and landside activities went smoothly under the guidance of Julie Martin, Maureen Madigan, Mette Segerblom and Molly Calder. Huge thanks to Lido Island and Newport Harbor Yacht Clubs for their support!!

Two protests were filed. One was disallowed and one resulted in the penalizing of the Cathedral Catholic Team for damage caused in a collision and procedures related to that event. Congratulations to the top three teams Newport Harbor, Point Loma and Corona Del Mar High Schools for qualifying for the ISSA Team Racing National Championships to be held in Seabrook, TX just outside of Houston at Lakewood Yacht Club over Memorial Day Weekend.

And, thanks to Danielle Richards for handling the rotations and scoring of our first major Team Racing Event on the new ISSA online scoring program.

Final Results

1Newport HarborNewport Harbor High SchoolSailors16-2Campbell D'Eliscu '15Katie Calder '14
Sean Segerblom '16Megan Roach '14
Carter Scott '16Jack Martin '14
Harrison Vandervort '15Briggs D'Eliscu '16
Eliza Moody '16
2Point LomaPoint Loma High SchoolPointers14-4Scott Sinks '14Rebecca McElvain '15
Will La Dow '14Johannes McElvain '15
Andy Reiter '15Kenny Moats '17
Mercedes McPhee '15
Jennifer Johnson '15
3Corona del MarCorona del Mar High SchoolSea Kings12-6James Madigan '14Kira Woods '15
Shawn Connor Kelter '14Katherine Madigan '16
Christophe Killian '14Mary Clare Dahl '14
*4Cathedral CatholicCathedral Catholic High SchoolDons12-6Storm Brown '14Alexandra Fayer '15
Cutter O'Connell '14Grace McCarthy '14
Ryan Hopps '14Molly Pleskus '14
5CoronadoCoronado High SchoolIslanders6-12PJ Eaton '17Tanner Chapko '17
Nicole Simon '16PJ Eaton '17
Augie Sturm '15Augie Sturm '15
Grace Yakutis '16Daniel Lobree '14
6Sage HillSage Hill SchoolLightning2-16Bobby Briggs '16Paige Okey '17
James Mather '14Kimberly Wong '15
Connor Chung '16Jodie Horowitz '15
Jacob Rosenberg '16Sydney Lake '16
Madison Nadelman '16
7Mater DeiMater Dei High SchoolMonarchs1-17Charlie Welsh '14Sarah Politiski '17
Madison Cardullo '15Jessica Correa '15
Wells Drayton '17Rebecca Stein '14
*11-6 as a result of a full point penalty in race 57