ISSA Baker Team Race Nationals


Saturday, May 23:

Light winds and choppy conditions made for difficult racing on Day 1 of the 2015 Baker Championships. The race committee were busy with the tricky condition but managed to get 52 races of the 66 race round robin complete on Saturday. St.Thomas Aquinas High School leads going in to Day 2, with 8 wins.

Sunday, May 24:

Day 2 dawned with cloudy skies and glassy seas. The Race Committee found a few puffs of wind early on, and ran 2 very slow races, then the wind shut off. The sailors and RC waited around (somewhat) patiently, and finally the breeze filled in from the East at 10-15 kts. This allowed the committee to finish the initial round robin, but leaving no time for a gold, silver and bronze rounds.

In an exciting three race sail-off Shorecrest Preparatory (St. Petersburg, FL) bested its cross-state rival St. Thomas Aquinas (Ft. Lauderdale, FL) 2-1. National Champions are Shorecrest Prep with St. Thomas Aquinas in second and Newport Harbor (Newport Beach, CA) in third.

Sailing for Shorecrest Preparatory School was skippers Nic Baird ’15, Patrick Shanahan ’15, Hannah Steadman ’16, and Josh Dochoda ’16; crews were Kathryn Booker ‘15, Peninah Benjamin ‘16, Kyle Dochoda ‘17, and Andreea Ranney-Pace ‘16.

On another important note, the Baker Championship Regatta qualified as a Clean Regatta, in partnership with Sailors for the Sea, Chicago Yacht Club’s first and highly successful green initiative. Through the use of reusable water bottles presented to each sailor with water stations available on the rotation and umpire boats, zero trash on water lunch containers, and an electric powered spectator boat, the CYC hosted Baker Championship Regatta is going for a Gold level certification. Chicago Yacht Club proudly embraces keeping our waters clean for future generations of sailors.

Final Results

*1Shorecrest PrepShorecrest Preparatory SchoolChargers9/2Nic Baird '15Kathryn Booker '15
Patrick Shanahan '15Peninah Benjamin '16
Hannah Steadman '16Kyle Dochoda '17
Josh Dochoda '16Andreea Ranney-Pace '16
**2Saint Thomas AquinasSt. Thomas Aquinas High SchoolRaiders9/2Christopher Williford '15Max Gillette '16
Mack Fox '16Dae Kelly '17
Sophia Reineke '17Brian Buckley '17
Alie (Alexandra) Toppa '16John Monahan '16
Liza (Elizabeth) Toppa '16
b3Newport HarborNewport Harbor High SchoolSailors8/3Campbell D'Eliscu '15Madeline Bubb '16
Sean Segerblom '16Briggs D'Eliscu '16
Carter Scott '16Eliza Moody '16
**4St. George'sSt. George's SchoolDragons8/3Will Logue '16Oliver Parsons '17
Truckie Greenhouse '17Caroline Macaulay '16
Collin Alexander '16Taylor Kirkpatrick '16
Matt Logue '18Drew Bailey '17
c5SevernSevern SchoolAdmirals8/3Floyd Nick '15Morgan Ian '15
White Emma '15Blair Reilly '18
Connor Bayless '17Caroline McNeil '18
Stephanie Houck '17
6ChristchurchChristchurch SchoolSeahorses6/5Hector Guzman '16Sally Johnson '18
Jack Elkin '15Claire Rae '16
Alex Moreno '15Annabel Carrington '15
7Portsmouth AbbeyPortsmouth Abbey SchoolRavens5/6Bailey Carter '15Kelly Shea '16
Andrew Sheerin '15Grace Benzal '17
Derek Poon Tip '15Sydney Welch '16
8BainbridgeBainbridge High SchoolSpartans4/7Stasi Burzycki '15Nicholas Dresel '15
Blake Bentzen '16Nicole Sanford '16
Jackson McCoy '15William Brown '15
Hannah Harrison '15
Joshua Rentz '15
**9Point LomaPoint Loma High SchoolPointers3/8Paul Didham '16Mercedes McPhee '15
Andy Reiter '15Jennifer Johnson '15
Johannes McElvain '15Rebecca McElvain '15
Cole Baker '16Grace Haselton '16
c10Norfolk CollegiateNorfolk Collegiate SchoolOaks3/8Dreugh Phillips '16Sarah Smith '18
Darden Purrington '16Hunter Kahler '17
Victor Layne '16Nick Baker '16
Ellie Maus '18Daniel Vail '17
11Clear FallsClear Falls High SchoolKnights2/9Dane Byerly '16Julia Sheaffer '18
Hunter Skinner '16Laura Masterson '16
Anna Willits '17Emily Gueldner '16
12MinnetonkaMinnetonka High SchoolSkippers1/10Jack Bitney '15Jacob Siegel '15
Belle Loosbrock '15Ashley Huynh '15
Alec McKee '15Kendall VanHorne '15
Lily Loosbrock '17
Conrad (Cort) Vandlik '17
*Number of races won when tied teams met (3)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
bNumber of races won when tied teams met (2)
cNumber of races won when tied teams met (0)