NWISA Silverdale Team Race Varsity


Saturday, April 18:

120 sailors from NW high schools came to Silverdale for the first team racing event of the season. Varsity and JV races were sailed together on a single digital N course, with 8 schools fielding 11 teams for varsity and a number of conglomerate teams were put together for 7 JV teams.

Beautiful conditions greeted the sailors upon their arrival in Silverdale, with the weekend promising sunshine, warm temperatures, and a solid northeasterly breeze. The NE wind direction on Dyes Inlet means we get flat water, mostly consistent direction, and the ability to rotate on the outside of the long main pier. The racers encountered a midday decrease in the velocity, but it soon returned to the six to 10 knot range for the rest of the afternoon. Racing finished at 1830 after completing 60 races for day 1.

Sunday, April 19:

Calm conditions resulted in postponement at the dock for our 9:30 start time. However, the race committee was ready to go when the fan turned on an hour later. Sunday's racing continued in the same fabulous conditions we had from Saturday, with all races completed prior to the 1500 deadline.

The varsity racers completed a round with the top 6 and the bottom 5. The JV completed two full rounds. Congratulations to the Lincoln Cardinals for their undefeated top 5 finish. Also finishing well were the Sehome Mariners (4-1), and the Bainbridge Spartans (3-2) who also take home the backup regatta Nationals team selection as the highest placing eligible varsity team. Congratulations to the Wilson Trojans for their convincing win in the JV racing.

Thanks go to all the teams who made the trip to Silverdale. We can't make these events happen without the extra efforts to get boats and personnel to the sites, and this regatta drew V15s from Poulsbo, Bainbridge Island, Port Angeles, and Whidbey Island. Safety boats and drivers from Bainbridge Island, Port Townsend, Port Angeles, and Poulsbo, and the Sailing Foundation were critical.

A huge thanks to Andrew Nelson, PRO, who kept the racing moving along, Jaqi Schaeffer who handled the finishes, and Scott Wilson who set up the rotations and handled the scoring online.

Final Results

1Lincoln ORLincoln High School - Portland, ORCardinals5-0Drew Bennett '15Ian Stewart '17
Matthew Reynolds '16Gavin Ross '16
Thomas Hope '16 *Rebecca Reynolds '17
2SehomeSehome High SchoolMariners4-1Liam Hood '16Shea Walker '16
Jeffrey Werner '16Mallory Hood '18
Benjamin Starks '16 *Peyton Nienaber '18
3BainbridgeBainbridge High SchoolSpartans 13-2William Brown '15Francine Brownell '15
Stasi Burzycki '15Sophia Kasper '18
Jackson McCoy '15Hannah Harrison '15
4BainbridgeBainbridge High SchoolSpartans 22-3Blake Bentzen '16Kathryn Smith '17
Olivia Mitchell '18Harrison Saliba '17
Caelan Juckniess '16Sophie Crandell '18
5WoodinvilleWoodinville High SchoolFalcons1-4Adam DiDomizio '15Megan DiDomizio '17
Connor Hughes '15Nicolai Blasdel '17
Erik Skeel '16Nina Sayed '15
Karl Skeel '16Karl Skeel '16
Erik Skeel '16
6North KitsapNorth Kitsap High SchoolVarsity0-5Maddie Ekin '16Anna Sherry '19
Liam Sherry '16Julia Sherry '19
Anna Sherry '19Nathan Grundmeier '19
Sarah Billings '14Maddie Ekin '16
Jonna O'keefe '16
7OrcasOrcas High SchoolVikings 24-0Domicick Wareham '19Jadyn Kopp '18
Kajetan Bullock '18Ronan Kau '19
Ronan Rankin '19McCabe Webb '18
8BainbridgeBainbridge High SchoolSpartans 33-1Elizabeth Rolfes '17Nicholas Dresel '15
Nicole Sanford '16Nicole Sanford '16
Nicholas Dresel '15Joshua Rentz '15
Karl Anderson '16Zachary Mellin '16
Christoph Webber '18
9OrcasOrcas High SchoolVikings 12-2Quinn Freedman '15Millie Kau '19
Michael Chesher '17Matia Schwartz '17
Maggie Toombs '18William Coe '15
10Oak HarborOak Harbor High SchoolWildcats1-3Max Van Dam '16Dylan Angell '18
Shawn O'Connor '17Matt Hallahan '16
Jordan Wood-Pina '18Amanda Stratton '17
Austin Hauter '17Matt Dixon '17
11Central KitsapCentral Kitsap High SchoolCougars0-4Evan Lund '15Rebekah Arvila '18
Keven Garrett '15Kendall Campana '15
Lina Fowler '18Lina Fowler '18
Niko Twilla '18Alex Hosier '17
Matt Dublynn '18
Isabelle Wheeler '17
David Riedel '18
Dylan Diefendorf '16