MISSA Baker Qualifier 2024


Saturday, May 4:

Long day with a lot of racing on beautiful Lake Minnetonka. Races started on time at 9:45am and ended around 6:30pm. We had champagne conditions all day: 7-12mph with 1-2 ft chop from the Northwest. Lighter breeze and flatter water towards the end of the day. 2 redress hearings resulted in 2 re-sail races between Jones and West Bloomfield and Jones and Saint Ignatius. One top four gold round was completed, but declining wind speed and shifty conditions prevented a silver round of 6 from being started. Congratulations to Lake Forest on winning the event! Lake Forest and Latin qualify for Baker Nationals in Oak Harbor, WA. Jones and Grosse Pointe qualify for the NIT in Chicago. Thank you to our volunteers, coaches, and umpires! The umpire team was comprised of CHUMP Cliff Black, Mike Kaspar, Bruce Martinson, Jeff Solum, and Graham Ness. PRO was Samuel Bartel. MISSA rep and scorer was Ted Anderson.

Sunday, May 5:

Racing was cancelled early in the day due to a very bleak wind forecast. No sailing Sunday.

Final Results

1Lake ForestLake Forest High SchoolScouts10/2Charlie Gish '24Maddie Rode '26
Tristan McDonald '24Nicole Janowicz '27
Keegan Chatburn '25Vivienne Kelly '27
Owen Kohut '25Mary Carter '24
Jackson Schwartz '25
*2Latin  of ChicagoLatin School of ChicagoRomans9/3Christian Prendergast '24Laine Reshefsky '24
Oliver Gray '25Hannah Danziger '26
Robert Danciu '27Alexander Stamos '27
**3Jones College PrepJones College PrepEagles9/3Gavin Eskilson '25Damian Amoruso '26
Grace Renz '26Duke Diep '27
Nissa Berman '26Orla Gilroy '25
4Grosse Pointe SouthGrosse Pointe South High SchoolBlue Devils8/4Gavin Webster '24Ana Kozak '27
Eric Brieden '24Teddy Gmeiner '27
Jack Riley '25Peter Horst '26
Elsa Leal '26
Bobby Cooper '27
5MinnetonkaMinnetonka High SchoolSkippers5/4Evy Engebretson '24David Acheson '24
Sofia Sigel '24Lucy Zinn '24
Connor Jewett '26Parker Laing '24
b6New Trier HSNew Trier HSTrevian3/6Aiala Angueira Salbidegoitia '26Lucy Elvart '24
Preston Levy '24David Szymanski '24
Nathan Finkelstein '26Charles Dischner '26
Santiago Benes '24Nora Donahue '24
Bennett Waters '26
**7St. Ignatius (IL)Saint Ignatius College Prep, Chicago, ILWolfpack3/6Avery Baldwin '25Jack Stenander '26
Sofia Sandoval '25Whitney Koif '25
Matthew Schmitt '25Finn Connolly '26
b8West BloomfieldWest Bloomfield High SchoolLakers Varsity2/7Liam Gilin '25Brent Armstrong '25
Jack Armstrong '25Alex Wszolek '25
Vinny Paliga '24Dorian Ferguson '26
**9North  (WI)Sheboygan North High School (WI)Raiders2/7Frank Ribich '26Reece Foree '27
Nat Green '24Elizabeth Jelinek '25
Owen Smith '24Eileen English '24
Ben Karle '24
Jake Leismer '24
10Detroit Country DayDetroit Country Day SchoolVarsity0/9Aarush Kapur '25James He '27
Ashwin Kesliker '26Alex Kollin '24
Andrew Wiand '25Krish Reddy '26
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (0)
bNumber of races won when tied teams met (1)