NESSA Single Handed Championship (Healy) - ILCA 6


Saturday, September 25:

Multiple races were started but none were completed for the ILCA 6 Division on day 1 of the 2021 Healy Trophy thanks to a tricky southeasterly that never fully settled in.

Sunday, September 26:

After completing zero races on day 1 of the 2021 Healy, sailors in the ILCA 6 division were blessed with a moderate westerly to start the day that gradually escalated into some full-on hiking conditions that made for a total of eight races with compelling action.

This one came down to the wire at the top of the fleet with two-time defending champion Chapman Petersen of The Hotchkiss School winning a tiebreaker with The Brunswick School's Ben Sheppard thanks to a bullet in the final race. That's three for three at the Healy for Chapman to cap off his time racing Lasers in NESSA. Weston High School's Antonio Henri Maya-LeFort rounded out the podium finishers with an impressive performance.

Many thanks go to Norwalk Yacht Club, particularly their Sailing Director Sean Palizza for hosting a fantastic championship event. The many parents and coaches that volunteered to help run the races deserve thanks as well. Special recognition goes to the parent volunteers from Fairfield Prep, Lincoln Academy, and Portsmouth Abbey who helped Sean and Regatta Chair Henry Millette run the RC boat on both days.

Note: LOP penalty has been changed in the new ISSA PR to +10 pts, but Tech Score has not been adjusted yet. Anyone with a LOP penalty should have 10 pts subtracted from their score.

Score summary

*1The HotchkissChapman Petersen '222222
*2BrunswickBen Sheppard '232222
3WestonAntonio Henri Maya-LeFort '234444
4The HotchkissCal Kinnear '254646
5KLHTKurt Stuebe '234949
*6Portsmouth AbbeyAlex Adams '225050
*7DarienConrad Straden '245050
8Milton AcademyRyan McGauley '237070
9St. George'sJack Bolton '237171
10Tabor AcademyWyatt Bischoff '237676
11Fairfield PrepCharlie Capporino '247777
12StaplesAlan Becker '238282
13Tabor AcademyGriffin Beaulieu '23101101
14St. George'sMax Miller '24113113
15North KingstownAlice Dunning '25115115
16BarringtonMoses Densley '25128128
17Greenwich Country DaOwen Chickering '25130130
18St. George'sGrace Patterson '25132132
19Lincoln AcademyArden Carleton '22147147
20BrunswickAsher Lloyds '24175LOP175
*Number of high-place (1) finishes

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.