MASSA Fall 2022 Team Race Championship


Saturday, October 22:

MASSA teams commenced sailing at 9:30 in winds of 5-10mph northeasterly with some oscillations. Skies were clear and seas were flat.

Sailors completed the first round robin and got well throughout the second with a total of seventy-three races accomplished on a digit N course. Racing finished for the day at 4:30 with Severn winning the tie breaker leaving them standing in first with 11 W/1L, Norfolk Academy in second with 11W/1L, and Christchurch School in third with 10W/3L.

Sunday, October 23:

Sailors arrive to overcast skies, a little bit of spitting rain and shifting N winds of 15-18 mph with gusts in the low 20's. Seas were choppy. Rain eased, and the wind built to 18-20 out of the north with gusts in the mid 20's for most of the day. A high pressure front brought light rain and dropping temperatures just as the regatta was finishing up around 12:45PM.

The second round robin was completed as well as interwoven silver and gold rounds. A breakdown in race 90 resulted in a resail. Over the course of two days, 110 races were completed on a digital N course.

Severn School ran away with first place with 21 wins/1 loss, followed by Norfolk Academy in second with 18 wins/4 losses, and Christchurch School in third place with 15 wins/7 losses. Honorable mention goes to Archbishop Spaulding for being the only school to beat Severn in a race.

Greatest thanks to Gary Bodie for serving as PRO and managing a fair course and well-timed races, keeping races moving, and overall running a great event. We also thank the other volunteers on the start and finish boats, marks, and umpires who make high school regattas possible.

Final Results

1SevernSevern SchoolAdmirals21/1Thomas Sitzmann '23Scarlett Harris '24
Kyle Reinecke '23Jed Lory '23
Robby Meek '23Helena English '24
Lilly Baker '23
2Norfolk AcademyNorfolk AcademyBulldogs18/4Henry Allgeier '23Emily Britt '23
Sean Trudell '24Rachael Buchanan '24
Rebecca Schill '23Jack Poynter '25
Sabrina Casagrande '25
Anna Iacobucci '25
Marin Soderberg '24
3ChristchurchChristchurch SchoolSeahorses15/7Madeline "Maddie" Janzen '25John "Peyton" McDonald '23
Rafael "Rafa" De Tomas Pereda '25Paul "PJ" Rodrigues Jr '24
Maison Koepke '23Simone Moss '25
William "Bo" Angus '25Cameron Kinnear '24
Jordan Viera '24William "Bo" Angus '25
4Archbishop SpaldingArchbishop SpaldingCavaliers13/9Hugh Carty '23Christina Pierce '25
Owen MacWilliams '24Madeline Washburn '23
Parker Herman '24Luke Farley '25
Taylor Collison '24
Gehrig Dewaele '24
5Hampton RoadsHampton Roads AcademyNavigators11/11Parker Moore '25Josie Brindley '26
Pierce Brindley '24Nicholas Bielewicz '26
Leila Pfrang '25John Dewey '26
Gianna Dewey '23
Liam Ambrosino '23
Ryan Foretich '25
6The Stony BrookThe Stony Brook SchoolBears12/10Gavin Hudson '24Mairead Reitzel '24
Jeremy Lunati '23JP Bennet '23
Mauro Gonzales '24Amy Li '23
Sean Beaver '23
Wyatt Moller '25
7Norfolk CollegiateNorfolk Collegiate SchoolOaks8/14Kiana Beachy '24Clara Murphy '23
Maddie Murphy '25Jackson Delanty '23
Alex Salzberg '25Jessa Rousch '23
Catlin Schoonen '24
Tucker Peltier '26
8GraftonGrafton High SchoolClippers6/16Blake Goodwin '23Helen Schmuck '23
Nick Fogt '23Grace Goodwin '25
Grif Mahan '25Ezekiel Hurst '25
*9Great MillsGreat Mills High SchoolHornets3/19Jonathan Stevenson '23Alex Prior '24
Ryan Brelage '24Eliza Szymendera '25
Eli Leopold '24Gracie Muir '23
**10BroadneckBroadneck High SchoolBruins3/19Marco Welch '24Madeline Fisher '23
Hayden Clary '24Carter Telep '24
Justin Marquez '24James O'Leary '25
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)