NESSA Team Racing Championship (Fritz Mark Trophy)


Saturday, May 20:

A great first day at the Fritz Mark Trophy hosted by Bowdoin College. Breeze started off North and then went Northwest allowing racing to take place in Widgeon Cove. Eventually the seabreeze filled in allowing for racing to take place right off the pier at the Coastal Studies Center. Two rounds of eight were completed just before 7:30 pm. A huge thank you to the army of volunteers that helped run and umpire the races. Congrats to St. Georges, Milton Academy, Tabor Academy, and the Hotchkiss School for qualifying for the top four.

The plan for tomorrow is to run two round robins composed of the top four to determine to overall winner and the top two teams that will qualify for the Baker Trophy.

Sunday, May 21:

Another great day of sailing on Harpswell Sound. After a short delay waiting for the sea breeze, racing got underway in a terrific southerly ranging from 8-12 knots. The double round robin of 4 teams was completed by 1:30 pm. Congrats to St. George's for winning the event and to Milton Academy with both teams qualifying for the Baker.

A huge thank you to the army of volunteers that help with the racing this weekend including Cori Radtke for running races, Frank Pizzo for moving marks, Tom Peabody and Megan for running the finish boat. Carl Zimba handled the scoring the event. We had a terrific group of umpires include Andrew Nugnes, Chester Jacobs, Harrison Hawk, Frances Jimenez, Erin Mullins, Fiona Gordon, and Geoff Pedrick. A big thanks also goes out to Harraseeket Yacht Club, the Bowdoin Crew Team, and the Marine Science Program at Bowdoin for allowing us to borrow a bunch of motorboats.

Final Results

1St. George'sSt. George's SchoolDragons18/2Matt Logue '18Ben White '18
Alden Grimes '17Colin MacGillivray '19
Gray Benson '18Victoria Boatwright '17
John Kirkpatrick '18Wyatt Fogg '19
Truckie Greenhouse '17Ellie Williams '18
2Milton AcademyMilton AcademyMustangs16/4Henry Burnes '17Jamie Fox '21
Charles Hibben '18Henry Taylor '20
Luke Monnich '21Isabelle Alex '21
Christina Sakellaris '17Alexandra Barron '20
Hunter Zonnenberg '20Jacob Sloane '18
Hunter Zonnenberg '20
Charles Hibben '18
Julia O'Connor '20
*3The HotchkissThe Hotchkiss SchoolBearcats11/9Briggs Lalor '17Carly Berry '17
Christopher Lukens '19Sophie Mason '17
Nicholas Stefanoni '17Christopher Lukens '19
Tommy Whittemore '18George Sidamon-Eristoff '17
Casey Mason '19
**4Tabor AcademyTabor AcademySeawolves11/9Chase Cooper '17Tom Moore '17
Jack Howard '19Kat Mitchell '17
CJ McKenna '18Cailyn Garber '17
Lulu Russell '17Nick Marshall '18
Michael Collins '18
5GreenwichGreenwich High SchoolCardinals6/8James Westerberg '17Louisa Bjerke '18
Pierce Ornstein '18Isabella Clemens '18
Jack Scanlan '17Isabella Arnaboldi '17
Jack Childs '19
Peter Dunay '17
6Falmouth  MaineFalmouth High SchoolYachtsmen4/10Caleb Robinson '18Grace Mooridian '17
Grace Mooridian '17Sierra Farhman '18
Audrey Morin '17Brendan Mittleider '19
Peter Morrissette '18Owen White '18
Catherine Morrissette '20
b7Boston CollegeBoston College High SchoolEagles1/13Bell Jed '18Brown Ian '17
Bedford Will '18McCrossan Rory '17
Graziano Nick '19Moreira Simon '18
b7Portsmouth AbbeyPortsmouth Abbey SchoolRavens1/13Emily Bredin '17Jackie Morrison '18
Max Guerriero '17Kelly Milliken '17
Patrick Rose '17Grace Benzal '17
*Number of races won when tied teams met (3)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)
bTie stands