NYISA-SE League Team Race Champs & District Qual


Saturday, April 1:

Five teams competed in c420s at The WaterFront Center for the NYISA-SE League Team Race Championship & Baker Qualifier. Two round robins were completed in the lee of Centre Island, Oyster Bay. With air and water temps hovering around 40degrees and winds from the north at 14-16kts, sailors managed the challenging conditions well. As racing continued, the winds diminished to 10-12 kts. 22 races were completed.

After finishing 2 round round robins, two sail offs were completed to break ties between Rye and Locust Valley for second place and Rye Country Day and St John the Baptist for fourth place.

Mamaroneck came out on top, with a perfect record of 8-0. Rye narrowly edged out Locust Valley in the sail-off to claim second. Rye Country Day beat St John the Baptist claiming fourth place.

Thanks to WFC staff and volunteers: PRO-Heather Grosso; Scorer-Brent Bomkamp; Safety/Mark/Breakdown/Rotation Launch-Alec Basilion; Assistants-Rebecca Keller & Lilah Donnelly

Huge thank you to umpires: Bam Miller, Karen Miller, Avi Lessman, Brendan Larrabee, Wyz Mooney and Katie Mooney.

Good luck to teams that advance to the District Baker Qualifier.

-Alicia Martorella, Regatta Organizer


Note: Preliminary results; teams ranked by winning percentage.

1MamaroneckMamaroneck High SchoolTigers8/0Emma Kaneti '18Molly Banks '18
Carmen Cowles '19Guy Santee '19
Emma Cowles '19Julia Henderson '18
*2RyeRye High SchoolGarnets5/3Michelle Lahrkamp '19Elliot Taft '19
Carina Becker '17Lise Powers '20
Madeline Saffer '20Caroline Costa '18
**3Locust ValleyLocust Valley High SchoolFalcons5/3
*4Rye Country DayRye Country Day SchoolWildcats1/7Lucie Rochat '18Ruth Reynolds '17
Jaume Pujadas '20Jack Briano '17
Josie Yeager '20Will Dunn '18
Tyler Gilman '20
**5St. John the BaptistSt. John the BaptistCougars1/7Noah Scarpa '17Kaitlyn Brzostek '19
Clare Guarascio '18Kyra Gilmore '17
Emma Worthington '19Brianna Califano '17
Andrew Madsgard '18
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (1)