NESSA Team Racing Championship (Fritz Mark Trophy)


Saturday, May 19:

The NESSA Team Racing Championship for the Mark Trophy opened with a double round robin of eight teams, 56 races. The wind was from the east at 10-12, gusting to 20, with a persistent misty rain. The teams were selected using coaches poll and a computer ranking algorithm based on their team racing results through the spring season. The top 8 teams were invited to compete for the Mark Trophy while the second group of eight teams were invited to compete for the Terk Trophy. As in recent years, the Mark was run at the same venue as the Terk, interleaving flights of 3 races for each event. The Mark was sailed in CFJs while the Terk was sailed in Fireflys.

There were 3 protests, resulting in one DSQ and 2 requests for redress resulting in one resailed race in Round 1. There were one protest in the second round, resulting in one DSQ. One race in the second round was resailed due to an error by the race committee.

At the end of the initial double round robin, a three-way tie for first place existed that was left to stand. A second three-way tie existed for the fourth remaining spot to continue to the next day. Unfortunately, one of those teams misunderstood the standings and left the venue before a sail-off could be conducted. The remaining two teams, The Hotchkiss School and Greenwich HS, sailed a single race sail-off to decide which team moved on to Day 2.

Sunday, May 20:

The NESSA Team Racing Championship for the Mark Trophy was decided by the double round robin championship round of 12 races today. Overnight the breeze swung from the east to west-southwest with slightly more velocity, 15 gusting to 25. With scores carrying over from yesterday, the day started with three teams tied for first place with 12 wins and 2 losses each. After some tightly contested races, the championship came down to the last race of the event with Tabor Academy edging out St. George's School.

Many thanks to MIT Sailing for hosting the event. Stew Craig did a stellar job fixing boats as things broke during the two days, allowing us to stay on schedule. NESSA is very fortunate for the continuing support of high school sailing by MIT Sailing.

Thanks also go out to the umpire crew: Brent Jansen (CHUMP, Saturday), etc. Thanks also to the many coaches that volunteered to man the finish boat and record scores. The event chair was Andrew Burr [Martha's Vineyard RHS]. The PRO was Andrew Nugnes [Falmouth HS MA] who ran the races from the start boat. The scorer was NESSA's Stat Geek, Carl Zimba.

Congratulations to all the participants for well-sailed races and a high level of sportsmanship. Best wishes to those that move onto the next events, Tabor Academy and St. George's School at the ISSA Team Racing National Championship and Milton Academy and The Hotchkiss School at the National Invitational Tournament.

Final Results

1Tabor AcademyTabor AcademySeawolves17/3CJ McKenna '18Nick Marshall '18
Jack Howard '19Michael Collins '18
Anthony Minder '19Cat Shakin '19
Jack Corbett '19Stone Lack '18
Harper McKerrow '19
2St. George'sSt. George's SchoolDragons16/4Gray Benson '18Amelia Jessop '21
John Kirkpatrick '18Colin MacGillivray '19
Matt Logue '18Wyatt Fogg '19
Ben White '18
Ellie Williams '18
3Milton AcademyMilton AcademyMustangs14/6Charles Hibben '18Alexandra Barron '20
Hunter Zonnenberg '20Amelia Carlson '20
Jamie Fox '21Isabelle Alex '21
Julia O'Connor '20
Ben Monnich '20
Henry Taylor '20
4The HotchkissThe Hotchkiss SchoolBearcats7/13Tommy Whittemore '18Elizabeth Koobatian '19
Christopher Lukens '19Gwyneth Howell '20
John Eastman '20Elissa Ito '19
Oliver Hurwitz '21Casey Mason '19
Tatiana Whitman '18
5GreenwichGreenwich High SchoolCardinals6/8Aidan Iaconis '21Louisa Bjerke '18
Max Anker '20Kate Russack '18
Pierce Ornstein '18Angus Manion '21
Jack Childs '19
Isabella Clemens '18
6Falmouth  MaineFalmouth High SchoolYachtsmen6/8Caleb Robinson '18Alex Mazelsky '20
Peter Morrissette '18Emma Cole '21
Brendan Mittleider '19Catherine Carpenter '19
Ava Brimicombe '21
7DartmouthDartmouth High SchoolIndians1/13Tony Root '18Sadie Thomas '19
Thomas Walker '20Ben Will '18
Gracie Woodcock '19Lucy Tibbals '19
8North KingstownNorth Kingstown High SchoolSkippers1/13Kevin Stamp '18Odey Hariri '20
Odey Hariri '20Kevin Stamp '18
Alex Dicenso '19Caroline Bourgeois '18
Dixon Wixted '21Nora Ong '19
Coghlin Molly '21
Olvia Mazzone '19
Elsa Kincaid '18