NJISA 2019 New Jersey State Championship


Saturday, May 18:

The 11th annual New Jersey State High School Championship drew 12 area schools to contest for the Elizabeth Olsen Perpetual Trophy at Toms River Yacht Club.

While the sailors initially arrived to the race course in a light northeast breeze, the much-anticipated wind shift occurred around 10:30 a.m., with the breeze going east and finally south for a nice day of racing. Much of the regatta was sailed in a south breeze at 7 to 10 knots with a few higher velocity puffs later in the afternoon.

Sixteen W4 races were completed, eight in each division, as racing concluded around 4:00 p.m. The Rumson-Fair Haven Bulldogs had a strong performance throughout the day to win the regatta with only one finish out of the top 5 for the total 16 races of the two divisions to end with a total of 46 points. The Ranney Panthers ended in second place with 59 points with the Southern Regional Rams one point behind them in third with 60 points.

Ranney was the leader in A Division with sailors Luke Arnone, Blake Epstein & Ashley Abboud. The Toms River North Mariners's A Division sailors Delcan Botwinick & Evan Harrison were second and the RFH Bulldog's Colleen O'Brien & Morgan Rice rounded out the top three in A Division.

B Division ended with the Southern Regional Rams pair of Brielle Willoughby and Bridget Green in first place, follwed by the RFH Bulldog's combo of Michaela O'Brien & Taylor Rice in second and Toms River North Mariners Everett Botwinck & Connor Corbet finishing out third the top three in B Division.

There was one penalty imposed on a team by the RC and request for redress was subsequently filed. The facts were heard by a protest committe consisting of the following judges: Jan O'Malley (National US Sailing Judge/NJ), Darryl Waskow (Interntaional and US Sailing National Judge/NJ), and Jim Tichenor (US Sailing National Judge/TX) whose ruling was found in favor of the team requesting redress and the penatly was removed.

In the last weekend regatta of the year, thanks to Dr. Randall Nunn for serving as regatta chair and mark set boat, Dave Magno for serving as the PRO, Jason Lutz for scoring, the panel of judges and TRYC & OCC for providing the facility and fleet for a great day of sailing. A special thanks to the sailors and parents for supporting this annual state championship event!

ALL-TIME STATE CHAMPIONS: 2009 - Rumson-Fair Haven 2010 - Rumson-Fair Haven 2011 - Toms River South 2012 - Toms River South 2013 - Red Bank Regional 2014 - Rumson-Fair Haven 2015 - Christian Brothers Academy 2016 - Christian Brothers Academy 2017 - Ranney School 2018 - Ranney School 2019 - Rumson-Fair Haven

Score summary

1Rumson-Fair HavenBulldogs271946
*3Southern RegionalRams451560
*4Toms River  NorthMariners233760
5Christian BrothersColts373875
6Toms River  SouthIndians5251103
7Trinity HallMonarchs4668114
9Donovan CatholicGriffins5184135
10Central RegionalEagles9457151
12Perth AmboyPanthers7596171
*Number of high-place (1) finishes

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.