Levesque Trophy: ME State Team Race Championship


Sunday, May 23:

Great day of sailing in tough conditions for the first ever Maine State Team Race Championship hosted by SailMaine. The Levesque Trophy commemorates the late Dick Levesque, the long time coach of the Falmouth High School sailing team who was influential in promoting high school team racing in Maine. The day started with a single round robin in a shifty westerly that clocked right and kept the race committee busy resetting the course. Sailors took a quick lunch break before heading back on the water with the top 4 teams competing for the title in the Gold division and the bottom 4 teams sailing against each other for the Silver. After a little rain and building breeze out of the north, the sun came out for the two divisions to begin the afternoon races. Unfortunately, the wind built to unmanageable conditions just as the Gold division finished their round and before the Silver could sail their final races. Southern Maine High School and Lincoln Academy both sailed well all day with SMHS squeaking out a close victory. Thank you to all the coaches who helped with the course throughout the regatta, managed boat breakdowns, and shepherded the fleet safely in at the end of the day.

Final Results

1Unregistered-NESSAUnregistered-NESSASouthern Maine3/0Nathan Selian '21 *Evie Weisenberger '23 *
Harrison Fream '21 *Rachel Kingsley '21 *
Gordon Fream '21 *Louisa Longshore '21 *
2Lincoln AcademyLincoln AcademyEagles2/1Ella Beauregard '21Arden Carleton '22
Bobby Clarkson '22Kate Mason '23
Toby Clarkson '24Piper Carleton '24
3Camden HillsCamden Hills RHSVarsity1/2Brott Emerson '21Eliza Larsen Leavins '22
Ella Ryan '22Pendleton Nicole '22
William Eggena '23Greer Lafiura '24
Lafiura Lafiura '22
4Falmouth  MaineFalmouth High SchoolYachtsmen0/3Myles Feuer '25Eliot Reany '24
Emma Cole '21Ryleigh Raber '23
Chris Hoffman '21Aurora Raber '24
5YarmouthYarmouth High SchoolClippers2/5Sandy Yale '21Olivier Garcia de Reynal '25
Catelyn Coolidge '25Sabina Coroi '23
Oliver Peloquin '21Thorton Lindsay '24
6Boothbay RHSBoothbay RHSSeaHawks Gold2/5Otto Scheonthal '24Marlowe Recoing-Tallen '23
Nathan Chatterton '21Glory Blethen '21
Griffin Chace '26Meg Sledge '24
7PortlandPortland High SchoolBulldogs2/5Aoife Mahoney '23Hazel Johnson '23
Charlie Spencer '23Frankie Sparrow '23
Posie Cabaniss '23Jack Taylor '23
8Cape ElizabethCape Elizabeth High SchoolCapers0/7Tess Straw '24Story Straw '25
Thomas Emery '23James Baldwin '24
Luc Francis '24Jack McCormick '24