NWISA Team Race Championship


Saturday, April 24:

In 2020 our NWISA Spring Season was abruptly cut short due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

It has been over one year since the NWISA District has had a District wide event, and TWO years since a Championship has been held.

Olympia High School Sailing Team and the Olympia Yacht Club High School Sailing Program were honored to host this event and see the NWISA District return to some kind of normalcy.

Thank you to Andrew Nelson for running races and being an awesome PRO!

Sailors were met with a southerly system coming off of the pacific on Saturday making for overcast but excellent wind for team racing with a steady 8-10 knots all day. Over 45+ races were run, and the standing were close at the end of day one. Teams enjoyed quick rotation off of the Port Plaza public dock, and parents enjoyed the Olympia Farmers Market nearby.

Sunday, April 25:

Fortunately the southerly persisted into Sunday and while weaker making the direction less stable, Andrew and the RC were able to get off another round of race completing multiple final rounds.

Thank you to the RC and Judges who helped shift the course. A number of protests were heard as well, thank you again to the Judges/Umpires who shared wisdom, and lent their time.

As the day came to a close, and after tight racing, Olympia High School remained in the lead - defending their 2019 District Team Race Championship win claiming the 2021 Title. Congrats Olympia!

Thank you to all the volunteers, RC, Judges, parents and helpers who made this event possible.

Olympia is proud to represent the NW in Miami at the Baker Trophy/Nationals.

Final Results

*1OlympiaOlympia High SchoolBears15/3Sam Bonauto '21Peter Kelleher '22
Ella Hubbard '22Sophia Hubbard '24
Hatcher Cox '21Finn McClure '23
Ellie Davis '21
Charlie Snyder '24
2BallardBallard High SchoolBeavers14/4Erik Anderson '21Sam Airhart '23
Catie Vandervort '22Johnny Vaughey '22
Caroline Lochner '22Meimei Peterson '22
Johnny Vaughey '22Holly Peterson '23
3BainbridgeBainbridge High SchoolSpartans11/7Dane Petrakis '21Ben Stone '23
Barrett Lhamon '22Marty Weigel '21
Gianna Dewey '23Chase Van Derrick '21
Zane Walker '22Lauren Heinzelman '22
**4RooseveltRoosevelt High SchoolRough Riders6/12Oliver Nairn '23Levi Bailey '24
Kirin Dhaka '23Matthew Lindburg '21
Abbie Chipps '21Nati Garcia-Bompadre '23
Danny Juan '23Kirin Dhaka '23
b5Lincoln ORLincoln High School - Portland, ORCardinals9/7Teddy Gao '23Ava Crutchfield-Martinez '21
Peter Schnell '22Charlotte Yesser '22
Zack Riccelli '21Leo Bieniek '20
6Oak HarborOak Harbor High SchoolWildcats3/13Thomas Buys '22Andrew Buys '21
Ben Servatius '22Shelby Lang '23
Ryan Metz '22Liam Chapman '22
Andrew Buys '21EJ Boilek '22
Shelby Lang '23Ryan Metz '22
Anna Servatius '24Allison Bailey '23
7SehomeSehome High SchoolMariners2/14Bailey Logan '21Tristan Neinaber '20
Keller Morrison '21Natalie Aarstol '22
Mike Rogge '22Keagan Carrigan '24
*Qualified for the Baker
**Fourth place after qualifying rounds: placing 4th overall
bFifth place after qualifying rounds: won consolation bracket