SAISA Baker Team Racing District Championships


Saturday, May 7:

We welcomed 5 teams for the Baker Quals this year and teams were greeted with strong Westerly winds and an incoming tide which made for good conditions in the river just outside the Patriots Point Marina and the CofC Sailing Center. In the first round Immaculata La Salle and Antilles suffered only one loss while Ransom and St. Thomas Aquinas dropped 2 each. Hoggard mixed it up but was unable to secure a win.

After a short break the teams went back out and raced in building breeze. La Salle continued to sail well, going undefeated in this round and Ransom tightened their game up beating all but La Salle. As breeze built and gusts started hitting the high 20 knot range sailors struggled to keep their FJ's upright. Around 2 PM as the second round was completing the PRO, ISSA Rep, OA and Umpires concurred that there was too much wind to continue safely and the regatta was called at this point.

On shore there was a request to consider reopening the event but this was denied by the OA and RC based on continuing high breezes. Despite not getting the third round in we are happy to be sending two very competitive teams from our region to the Baker Championships this year. All teams sailed very well. We are so appreciative of the efforts of Chief Umpire Jeff Woodard and his team including, Kathy Lindgren, Amy Woodard and Ryan Davidson. PRO Mark DeGuire and wife MC were assisted by CofC sophomores and Dockmaster Ned Goss in the safety boat.

Congratulations and good luck to Immaculata La Salle and Ransom Everglades at the Nationals!

Final Results

1Immaculata La SalleImmaculata La Salle High SchoolRoyal Lions7/1Justin Callahan '22Brianna Ross '22
Mitchell Callahan '22Caroline Caudron '23
Danny Rianno '23Jadin Gonzalez '24
Umi Noritake '24Umi Noritake '24
Danny Rianno '23
2Ransom EvergladesRansom Everglades SchoolRaiders5/3Stephan Baker '22Livia Herman '22
Jackson McAliley '23Boris Bialer '22
Griggs Diemar '25Emery Diemar '24
*3Saint Thomas AquinasSt. Thomas Aquinas High SchoolRaiders4/4Cody Roe '25Ava Meschel '24
Jack Redmond '22KJ HIll '25
Mary (Lucy) Meagher '23Parker Bustamante '25
Kevin Gosselin '23
**4AntillesAntilles SchoolHurricanes4/4Winn Majette '23Megan Cassidy '22
Tanner Krygsveld '25Caitlin Briggs '23
Caroline Sibilly '22Katherine Majette '23
Alexis Young '23
JJ Knowles '22
5John T. HoggardJohn T. Hoggard High SchoolVikings Varsity0/8Tavia Smith '23Jamie Keener '22
Petra Humphrey '25Danny Diederich '23
Danny Diederich '23Francis (Mac) Humphrey '22
Ben Usher '23Emmy Teer '25
Francis (Mac) Humphrey '22Hans Westermark '25
Jane Wright '24
*Number of races won when tied teams met (2)
**Number of races won when tied teams met (0)