Sunday, March 20:

The MDISA SSA Team Race started off with very gusty conditions. We had a breeze out of the West to start the regatta at a sustained 12-15 but with the gusts getting into the mid to high 20s. We were able to get 1 flight in prior to getting a long period of sustained breeze of 25 knots where we postponed in hopes the wind would subside enough to get in enough races for the day. After a coaches meeting we decided it was safe enough to get back out on the water to meet the goal for 80% completion. We decided to go with rotations out of coach boats on the water instead of rotating from the docks. We were able to hit our goal of 80% by 3:30pm and sent the sailors in for the day.

Thank you to the Race Committee Zack Kelchner, Sean Harr, Bryan Stout, and Bill Carty for your assistance in running the first team race of 2022. Also, congratulations to Severn School finishing in 1st overall, Archbishop Spalding for finishing 2nd and Leonardtown finishing 3rd overall.

Final Results

1SevernSevern SchoolAdmirals6/0Raam Fox '22Reese Corckran '24
Kyle Reinecke '23Lilly Baker '23
Ava Cornell '24Jed Lory '23
2Archbishop SpaldingArchbishop SpaldingCavaliers3/1Anna Groszkowski '22Addison Lisiewski '22
Owen MacWilliams '24Michael Hinrichs '22
Hugh Carty '23Claire Woynerowski '22
Parker Herman '24
Ava Farley '22
3Leonardtown HighLeonardtown High SchoolRaiders3/2Sterling Maggard '23Kyle Engel '23
Joseph Murphy '24Marc Hauenstein '23
David Abbott '23Joe Gardner '23
Douglass Abbott '23
*4St. Marys  (MD)St. Mary's High School (MD)Saints2/3Jack Powers '24Finley Heflin '24
Chase Conway '22Andrew Tollefson '22
William Donald '24
*4BroadneckBroadneck High SchoolBruins2/3JonJon Weed '22Maddison Carew '23
Marco Welch '23Will Harding '22
Tyler Hughes '22Aden Keithley '23
6AnnapolisAnnapolis High SchoolPanthers1/3Cole Canuel '22Connor Lawrence '22
Ty Ryan '22Annie Lapides '25
Sam White '23Asha Myers '22
7Great MillsGreat Mills High SchoolHornets0/5Jonathan Stevenson '23Eliza Szymendera '25
Eli Leopold '24Daniel Aaron '23
Peter Morris '23Ellis Thompson '23
*Tie stands