Downeast Invitational/Maine State Championship


Saturday, May 12:

Nineteen teams from New England participated in the Downeast Fleet Racing Invitational which also served as the Maine Schools Sailing Association Championship. Racing occurred in beautiful Smith Cove off the Bagaduce River across from Castine, Maine.

Every detail of running the event on and off the water was handled superbly by a well coordinated and dedicated group: Larry Gray, Regatta Chairman, Athletic Director, George Stevens Academy Dana Willis, Marine Operations Manager, Maine Marime Academy Tim Leach, Race Committee Boat Captain John Michael (JM) Payne, Sailing Master, Maine Maritime Academy Griff Fenten, Chair of the Protest Committee Betty Minson, Principal Race Officier

A bright sunny day with temperatures in the mid-fifties and a steady SW 16-17 knot breeze with gusts to 22 knots made for some fun racing of 6 races each for A and B Divisions. Ocillating and persistent right windshifts presented the sailors with challenges.

Teams lunched on the long spectator float and mingled with competitors and team support people. Protests were heard on Addie Rae docked at the float. Dinner was enjoyed ashore in the large bay of Payson Hall and lodging was in the dormitory Curtis Hall on the campus of Maine Maritime Academy.

Sunday, May 13:

The first race was sailed in light and variable winds from north to northwest which provided some variety. Air temperatures were warmer than Saturday. Wind filled in from the south and was variable in velocity and direction and each division sailed 5 races, making for 11 races for the two day regatta in both A and B Divisions.

Marblehead was awarded the perpetual Jim Modisette Memorial Downeast Regatta Trophy having placed first in the 19 team fleet. Camden won the perpetual Maine Schools Sailing Association Championship Trophy, provided each year by Griff Fenton. A new perpetual award this year provided by Maine Maritime Academy is in memory of Butch Minson who served as PRO for most of the Downeast Regattas since the first one in 1999. This award is presented to a competitor for demonstrating superior compliance with the recognized rules of racing and the highest principles of sportsmanship and fair play. The Butch Minson Crorinthian Spirit Award was presented to Emily Lau, Isleboro Central School.

Score summary

2Tabor AcademySeawolves404686
3Belmont HillVarsity543791
4Camden HillsVarsity7133104
5Falmouth  MaineYachtsmen5563118
6Mt. Desert Island HSTrojans84105189
7Unregistered-NESSANorthern VT100103203
8PortlandBulldogs 1109101210
9Islesboro CentralEagles106115221
10Boothbay RHSSeaHawks Gold15077227
*14Camden HillsChills149142291
16Unregistered-NESSASouthern Maine148148296
17PortlandBulldogs 2152149301
18George Stevens AcadeEagles140179319
19Mt. Desert Island HSVarsity140197337
*Head-to-head tiebreaker

Score history

The following chart shows the relative rank of the teams as of the race indicated. Note that the races are ordered by number, then division, which may not represent the order in which the races were actually sailed.

The first place team as of a given race will always be at the top of the chart. The spacing from one team to the next shows relative gains/losses made from one race to the next. You may hover over the data points to display the total score as of that race.

Your browser does not support embedded SVG elements. View the history chart.